Skip to content

Heavy Metal

July 9, 2011

I grew up in the barren wastelands of northern Minnesota. My hometown was very small and I had a hard time fitting in. This left me disillusioned and alienated during my teenage years. Luckily I found peace by listening to loud, aggressive music. Iron Maiden has been my favorite band since I was 13 years old.

Interning in the Minneapolis-Saint Paul area has been awesome for concerts. Going to a metal show used to involve a 4 hour drive each direction. Now I can buzz over after work and see whoever is in town. The club I go to most is quite run down but I don’t mind because the tickets are VERY reasonably priced. I paid only $30 (including fees) and got to see a four-hour show.

Earlier this week was a great lineup of melodic, symphonic, and progressive death metal bands: Children of Bodom, Devin Townsend Project, Obscura, and Septicflesh.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

